Rett Syndrome State Proclamations

October Awareness 2018

October is Rett Syndrome Awareness Month and Governors in several states honor our effort by signing proclamations declaring October to be Rett Syndrome Awareness Month in their states. These proclamations are available to you and they can be downloaded for your use.

So far, in 2018 Proclamations have been obtained for: Texas,  New Jersey (permanent proclamation), Ohio (permanent proclamation), Arkansas, Arizona, Michigan, Colorado, PennsylvaniaSouth Carolina, MassachusettsBoston, MA,  Oklahoma, South Carolina, Wyoming,  Pennsylvania , Missouri,  Maryland, and Oregon

In 2017,  Proclamations were obtained for the following:    Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California- San Diego County, Florida - City of Hawthorne, Iowa, Maryland, MassachusettsMassachusetts- City of BostonMichigan, Missouri, Nebraska,  New Jersey, Ohio, Oklahoma,  Oregon,  Pennsylvania, South CarolinaTexas, Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming  and New Hampshire

Our goal is to obtain proclamations in all 50 states.  Donna Dean proudly leads the Rett proclamation effort. Please direct any comments or questions to Donna Dean. Donna has developed the following documents to help you procure proclamations in your state:


2018 Guide to Obtaining Governor Proclamations


October Awareness Month Draft Letter


2018 Whereas statements for Governors


Visit our Downloadable Resources page for our most recent FACT sheet, Impact Report, Brochures and more. 



Signing of one of the early proclamations declaring October to be Rett Syndrome Awareness Month, Governor George Bush, Texas 1997.