Rett Syndrome State Proclamations

October Awareness 2018

October is Rett Syndrome Awareness Month and Governors in several states honor our effort by signing proclamations declaring October to be Rett Syndrome Awareness Month in their states. These proclamations are available to you and they can be downloaded for your use.

So far, in 2018 Proclamations have been obtained for: Texas, New Jersey (permanent proclamation), Ohio (permanent proclamation), Arkansas, Arizona, Michigan, Colorado, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Massachusetts, Boston, MA, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Wyoming, Pennsylvania , Missouri, Maryland, and Oregon.

In 2017, Proclamations were obtained for the following: Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California- San Diego County, Florida – City of Hawthorne, Iowa, Maryland, Massachusetts, Massachusetts- City of Boston, Michigan, Missouri, Nebraska, New Jersey, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas, Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming and New Hampshire.

Our goal is to obtain proclamations in all 50 states. Donna Dean proudly leads the Rett proclamation effort. Please direct any comments or questions to Donna Dean. Donna has developed the following documents to help you procure proclamations in your state:

2018 Guide to Obtaining Governor Proclamations

October Awareness Month Draft Letter

2018 Whereas statements for Governors

Visit our Downloadable Resources page for our most recent FACT sheet, Impact Report, Brochures and more.

Signing of one of the early proclamations declaring October to be Rett Syndrome Awareness Month, Governor George Bush, Texas 1997.